Mighty Gods

Mighty Gods, Small as Cherubs

A series of books written by J.M. Miles

There are currently three books in this series.

The first book

The story begins with a creation myth, which the reader is free to believe or not. But basically the myth states: This universe began with Chaos and with Chronos, who is also known as Father Time.

A logical beginning for a myth – maybe – but soon (relatively speaking) other gods make their appearances, and eventually our planet is formed and Gaia (Mother Earth) takes up her maternal duties. In a year sixty-six million years before our present time she decides that a pantheon of six gods and goddesses is needed for the coming golden age of the Greeks, many years in the future.

Father Time obliges and causes the magical birth of Zeus, the god of thunder and lightning; Hera, the goddess of women and marriage; Hades, the god of the underground; Demeter, the goddess of the harvest; Poseidon, the god of the sea; and Hestia, the goddess of households and good domestic order. He creates them as babies and at age seven they stop growing (they more resemble cherubs than mighty gods). Father Time doesn’t know why they stopped aging in appearance but hopes that they will be easier to control as infants. He is wrong in that, something he finds out when his favorite creatures, the dinosaurs, are wiped out by an errant asteroid.


mighty gods book 2c print wwwThe second book

In what seems to have been a punishment for the extinction of the dinosaurs, the cherubic gods and goddesses are sent to hibernate for a multimillion-years-long nap. They awaken in an epoch, the Oligocene, which is about twenty-six million years before this author and you (probably) were born.

Mammals have come to be, and although many of them are rather odd-looking and some downright dangerous, the primates look promising – in particular, an intelligent and gentle primate called the Apes Priori. Gaia foresees a bright future for these apes, but at that time in our planet’s history these apes lived in an extremely dangerous neighborhood.

Naturally, the six cherubic gods and goddesses want to help them. They decide to move the Apes Priori to a safer spot on the planet. And that plan works well for quite a few centuries. Alas, after hundreds of years of contented civilization building, these unfortunate apes are violently displaced by a super volcano.


The third book

Father Time suffers a lapse in concentration allowing the space-time continuum to wander down the wrong path. He announces to the Olympian gods and goddesses that out of the infinite number of multiverses they’ve wandered into the wrong universe. And that means they’re on the wrong version of Earth. They need to leave as soon as Father Time can remember the right path. To keep the cherubs busy, on an island near the volcanic island of Thera, he creates a Minoan-like city populated with mechanical people. Here the six little gods and goddesses can be a Pantheon and rulers of the city. But Hera hates the mechanical humans (called woebots). The cherubs long for something better. Too bad, Father Time is adamant: no mortals in their city – it’s his number one rule which he expects everyone to keep while he is totally immersed in trying to recall a memory from his endless store of future memories (an impossibility says Hades). But, bit by bit, circumstances leave the little ones no choice but to rescue and house a few mortal children here and there. Gaia comes to see the wisdom in this – Father Time, after returning to the world of here and now, doesn’t. He explodes in a fit of impotent rage for which he is shamed and shunned. Of course, in the end, the cherubs and Gaia fix everything and the city of Atalantis is born.





All three books are available at a very lonesome corner of Amazon.com in e-book format for the ridiculously low price of $0.99. The author is currently working on a fourth book in the series The three books have been suspended from Amazon publication. The entire first book can be read at this website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *